SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan

Congress has expanded eligibility for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL).


In addition to the entities that are already eligible for SBA disaster loans (small businesses, private nonprofits, and small agriculture cooperatives), eligibility is temporarily expanded to include:

  • Business entities with 500 or fewer employees

  • Sole proprietorships, with or without employees

  • Independent contractors

  • Cooperatives and employee-owned businesses

  • Tribal small businesses

  • Private nonprofits of any size.

Additionally, you must have been in business as of January 31, 2020. Expanded eligibility criteria are only available between January 31, 2020 and December 31, 2020.

How to Apply

  • You can apply for an EIDL online with the SBA.

  • You can visit an SBA resource partner who can help guide you through the loan application process. You can find your nearest Small Business Development Center (SBDC) or Women’s Business Center here.

More Information

If you have additional questions, my staff will help get you answer. Contact my nearest office here.

For more information about SBA loan programs, please visit the Small Business Administration website.

If you need additional assistance, please reach out to your local Small Business Development Center, Women’s Business Center, SCORE chapter, or SBA District Office.