Golden Leads 18 Bipartisan Members of Congress to Press House Leaders to Restart COVID-19 Relief Negotiations

August 20, 2020
Press Release

A bipartisan group of 18 members of Congress, led by Congressman Jared Golden (ME-02), took their urgent concerns with Congress’ failure to deliver COVID-19 relief legislation to House leadership today. The lawmakers pressed House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy to work together to return to negotiations as soon as possible. 

“We are writing to urge you to immediately resume negotiations for a relief package to confront the dual public health and economic crises Americans are facing as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic,” the members of Congress wrote. “During times of national emergencies, the American people look to elected officials to set aside their differences and take action through a sense of shared purpose and direction. The time for excuses has passed: Congress must work together and find compromise to jumpstart the process.”

Although the House is scheduled to reconvene this weekend, House leadership has indicated no plans to restart negotiations on COVID-19 legislation while members are in Washington. This, Golden and his colleagues write, “as over 170,000 Americans have died from the virus, hospitals in parts of the country are once again seeing a spike in cases, millions of businesses remain shuttered or restricted in their operations, state and local governments are facing significant revenue shortfalls, and the future of the weekly pandemic unemployment assistance is uncertain for the more than 30 million Americans without a job.”

Ten Democrats and eight Republicans joined Golden to send the letter. Those representatives are: Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Ben McAdams (UT-04), John Katko (NY-24), Joe Cunningham (SC-01), David Joyce (OH-14), Anthony Brindisi (NY-22), Anthony Gonzalez (OH-16), Susie Lee (NV-03), Mark Amodei (NV-02), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Jaime Hererra Beutler (WA-03), Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Fred Upton (MI-06), Max Rose (NY-11), and Kendra Horn (OK-05). 

Read a copy of the letter here.